Mixtape: Dustin M. Hoffman/Seven-Eighths Ska

Dustin M. Hoffman has an MFA in fiction from Bowling Green State University and is working on a PhD from Western Michigan. We keep running into people, seemingly at random, who know him. All of these people want to talk with us about how much they like him. We have never met Dustin M. Hoffman. It’s entirely possible, as far as we know, that he is some kind of a plot being perpetrated on the editors of Artifice Magazine, for who knows what purpose. His piece “Seven-Eighths” appears in Issue 3.

I haven’t made a mix tape in a long, long time. Back in high school I was the master of the punk/ska mix. If you wanted the best stuff you never heard of recorded onto a Maxell cassette, you came to me. My tastes have changed a lot since then, and my mix tape skills are rusty. Here goes.

The Rezillos – My Baby Does Good Sculptures

I was kind of thinking about this band and their dynamic when I imagined the band in my story that’s coming out in the new issue of Artifice.

The Clash – Rock the Casbah

One of the best worst videos of all time by The Only Band That Matters.

Joe Strummer and The Mescaleros – Johnny Appleseed

And then much later he became The Only Man That Matters. Joe Strummer’s solo albums with the Mescleros are just beautiful.

Rancid – Time Bomb

Anyone who knows me knows I couldn’t make a mix without putting some Rancid on it.

Elvis Costello and The Attractions – Clubland

90% of my music listening these days is spent spinning Elvis Costello and The Attractions on vinyl. All of Costello’s early stuff is so gorgeously awkward, a tone I stumble after in my own writing.

Chris Murray Combo – Love Flame

Chris Murray is the best musician you never heard of. Traditional ska is still being played, despite how hard the 90s tried to kill it. Hilarious video.

Desmond Dekker – Unity

But don’t forget, Desmond Dekker came first.

Vampire Weekend – Holiday

Fugazi – Waiting Room

They Might Be Giants – Dr. Worm

This one almost didn’t make the cut, but my wife said that Unk would appreciate this song. I guess you’ll have to read the new issue of Artifice to know what that means.

Tim Armstrong – Into Action

Dancing music. Sure, but I only know how to skank.

Tom Waits – How’s It Gonna End

I used to always end my mixes with this song. I don’t write to music. I need silence. This song, though, creeps into my head.

Leave a Reply

