Guest Mixtape: Dan Brady

Dan Brady, the Poetry Editor for Barrelhouse Magazine, contributes a guest mixtape for the Artifice Issue 3 Mixtape Blitz. Dan’s work can be found in Big Lucks, BlazeVox, Circumference, Gargoyle, IsReads, and Specs, among others.

Run Up to AWP Anxiety Mix Tape

This mixtape simply contains music I’ve enjoyed listening to lately and since I’ve been thinking a lot about AWP and the things Barrelhouse has going on during AWP there is a certain anxiety that might be reflected here. Let’s just get to it. You can find mp3s of all these songs over at the Hype Machine.

Lupe Fiasco – The Show Goes On

When you’re planning two massive events at AWP there are bound to be a few hiccups along the way. I listened to this song to make myself feel better. It’s also an anthem for inner city youth and the teachers of inner city youth. I am neither an inner city youth nor a teacher of inner city youth, yet still, it touches me.

The Drums – Let’s Go Surfing

I first heard this song on MTV. Did you know MTV still plays videos? They do, in the mornings on weekdays. I only know that from being home sick from work. I like that the title is “Let’s Go Surfing” but the chorus is “I wanna go surfing.”

TV Girl – If You Want It

This is my ringtone right now. It’s just damn catchy, plus the whole “you only want me when you’re drunk” scenario seems very AWP.

Thee Oh So Protective One – Girls

This song is sweet and sad and sexy and makes me want to dance in a seductive manner. “You can feel it in your butt. It’s butt music,” as my old Jazz professor used to say.

Lissie – Little Lovin’

I’ve got a little crush on Lissie and this tune is an earworm for sure.  I also like the determination to get to Heaven.  Plus I love songs that make big changes late in the game, like the clap-fest that closes this one out.

Arcade Fire – City With No Children

The opening of this song has an uncanny parallel to the opening to To Kill a Mockingbird. I think the similarities end there (though, maybe adult looking back perspective?). Anyway, I’m endlessly trying to think of others when I listen to this one.

Generationals – Trust

My 1 ½ year old dances to this song. He loves it. He puts his little fist in the air and stomps his foot. It’s his jam. That’s the only reason it’s on here.

Belle & Sebastian – I Want the World to Stop

Sometimes I want the world to stop and if I only had the morning, the afternoon, the night, I could make it work. Another anxiety soothing song, for me at least.

Cee-lo Green – Old Fashioned

My wife and I are going to dance to this song at our 70th wedding anniversary.

Leave a Reply

